Architecture Council for Excellence

Purpose or Mandate

The Department of Architecture is committed to excellence in teaching, research and service in the discipline of architecture and its practice as a contributor to the built environment. 

The Architecture Council for Excellence through the generosity of its membership is committed to enhancing excellence through the support of and service to Department of Architecture.

The Architecture Council for Excellence bridges the academic experience and the professional world by creating relationships between former students, faculty and the students. The Council makes this link between the past, present and the future in a variety of ways.

The objectives and purpose of the Council is to:

  • Support through Giving - Scholarships, Endowments for special activities (e.g. lecture series), discretionary funds for the department, and endowed chairs and professorships to bolster the Department of Architecture degree programs.
  • Serve as advocates of the Department of Architecture with the College and the University.
  • Act as a liaison between the Department of Architecture and the architectural profession and allied professions.
  • Offer advice, counsel and vision to the Department of Architecture.
  • Promote the Department of Architecture.


The business and affairs of the Council shall be conducted by its general membership of the Council through the election of an Executive Committee of the Council.

The affairs of the Council shall be managed by the Executive Committee consisting of a President, Vice-President, an Executive Director, Chairs of each subcommittee and the immediate Past President.

All officers with the exception of the Executive Director shall be elected by the general membership pursuant to nominations made by a membership subcommittee.

The officers to be elected to a one year term effective on January 1st of the next calendar year.

The Executive Director shall be the Head of the Department of Architecture.

Definitions of Offices

  • President: The President shall preside at all meetings of the Council and all meetings of the Executive Committee. The President shall have any and all powers and duties which the Council may from time to time determine. The President shall be an ex-officio member of all sub committees or task forces. The President shall not be eligible for re-election at the conclusion of his/her term, but may be re-elected at subsequent terms.
  • Vice-President/President Elect: The Vice-President shall assist the President and act as the President in his absence or incapacity. When so acting, the Vice-President shall have all the powers, duties and responsibilities of the office of the President.
  • Committee Chairs: The Chairs of the subcommittees shall preside at all meetings of their subcommittees and shall designate an alternate to preside in their absence.
  • Executive Director: The Executive Director shall conduct the day to day business of the Council under the direction of the President. The Executive Director shall assure that minutes of each meeting of the Council and Executive Committee are recorded and furnished to all members of the Council.


The Council shall conduct some of its affairs and business through standing subcommittees of the Council. Such subcommittees will be appointed by the Executive Committee from the membership of the Council. The President will present the slate of members of each subcommittee for the next calendar year at the Fall meeting of each odd numbered year for approval by the Council. The chairs and members may serve for more than one term beginning January 1st of the next year.

Standing Subcommittees

  • Development: The purpose of this subcommittee is to support and promote the fund-raising activities of the Department of Architecture. 
  • Membership Subcommittee: Promote and solicit membership for the Council. To develop and manage a Council awards program providing appropriate recognition for students, faculty and Council individuals and corporations.
  • Research and Studies Subcommittee: Determine the priorities for spending Council funds on research and studies to further the objectives of the Council. 
  • Budget Subcommittee: Prepare the proposed annual budget for consideration by the Executive Committee. This subcommittee will also monitor expenditure of funds from the Council account to insure that expenditure is in accordance with approved budgets. 
  • Curriculum Subcommittee: Provide continuous review of the Department’s undergraduate and graduate programs and to provide input to promote excellence.

Composition- Membership

The Council shall consist of individuals and firms or other business related entities who have a strong interest in the discipline of architecture and its practice.

  • Individual - Any individual who supports the Department of Architecture through the annual membership fee will be deemed a member of the Council. Individual members will be invited to participate in all Council events and will have voting rights in Council matters.

Membership consists of the following categories:

  • Student or Intern - $50 (membership for current students and graduates within three years of graduation.)
  • Regular - $200
  • Lifetime - $2000
  • Premier - Any donation or gift of giving to any specific Council initiative exceeding $1000 shall automatically attain all rights of individual annual membership.
  • Firms or Business Entity - Any Firm or business entity, who have a strong interest in the discipline of architecture and its practice may have a membership in the Council and are entitled to designate a representative and alternate to participate in the activities of the Council. Each firm shall have a single vote on Council matters. ($1000)

Budget and Expenditures

All donations and membership fees will be deposited in an account assigned to the Council, maintained by the Texas A&M Foundation.

Disbursements from the Council account may be made by the Executive Director pursuant to the budget approved by the Executive Committee.

The proposed budget of the Council for the next calendar year will be prepared by the Budget sub-committee of the Executive Committee and presented to the Council general membership for approval at the fall meeting each year.

The budget of the Council will be allocated to the following general categories:

  1. Student Enrichment (support of organizations, field trips, lecture programs, career fairs etc...) 
  2. Student Scholarship
  3. Department Discretionary 
  4. Research Studies and Faculty Development 
  5. Operation of the Council

Use of all funds shall be reported to the Council membership on an annual basis.

*Fifty percent (50%) of Individual membership fees shall be used as discretionary funds for the Department of Architecture. 
**Premier membership - Any donation or gift of giving exceeding $1000 may be specifically designated to a budget category or specific Council initiative.


The Council’s Executive Committee and general membership shall meet twice each year on or near the Texas A&M campus - once in the fall and once in the spring. Dates of these meetings will be set well in advance by the Executive Director and will be provided to all members at least 30 days before each meeting.

In addition the Executive Director will meet once each year in Houston, Dallas, and Austin/San Antonio with members of the Council for an informal update of the Council and the Departmental activities. Notice of these meetings will be provided to members in that area at least 15 days in advance.